Monday, December 14, 2009

2009 New York Film Critics Circle Winners

Just when you think the NY critics will go all highbrow, they go all middle of the road instead. Save for an another awesome notice for In the Loop's brilliant screenplay, nothing here is out of the ordinary. Just a few days ago, the race seemed wide open-- the chasm is now diminishing by the hour. New York, I love you but you're bringing me down.

Winners via Awardsdaily:

Best Film – “The Hurt Locker”

Best Director – Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker”

Best Screenplay – “In the Loop”

Best Actress – Meryl Streep for “Julie & Julia”

Best Actor – George Clooney for “Up In The Air” and “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Best Supporting Actress – Mo’Nique for “Precious”

Best Supporting Actor – Christoph Waltz for “Inglourious Basterds”

Best Cinematography – Christian Berger for “The White Ribbon”

Best Animated Film – “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Best Non-fiction Film – “Of Time and the City”

Best Foreign Language Film – “Summer Hours”

Best First Feature – “Hunger,” director Steve McQueen

Special Award – To Andrew Sarris for his contribution to film criticism

No comments: